SOFTBALL: Los Alamitos’ Ryan Denhart named 2017 Dream Team Player of the Year


The post-season honors keep coming in for pitcher Ryan Denhart and her Los Alamitos Griffin softball teammates.

Denhart put together a 25-3 season and was strongest when she needed to be — down the stretch run of the Griffins’ CIF championship season  — and for that she was honored as the Long Beach Press-Telegram’s 2017 Softball Dream Team Player of the Year.

The Maryland-bound Denhart was one of seven Griffins named to this year’s Dream Team.  Joining her on the first team were Oklahoma-bound outfielder Alexa Shultz, Loyola Marymount-bound infielder Andrea Gonzales and Oregon-bound catcher Mary Iakopo.

Receiving a spot on the all-Orange County second team were Michigan bound second baseman Catie Ladd, Arizona-bound center fielder Jenna Kean and junior shortstop Kaitlyn Parsons (who is already committed to Tennessee).

Griffins on all-county team
Los Al’s Ryan Denhart, Catie Ladd, Andrea Gonzales and Mary Iakopo earned sports on the Register’s all-county first team.

Denhart, Iakopo, Schultz and Ladd were also named to the OC Register’s All-Orange County first team.   Iakopo also earned All-CIF Division I honors.  Griffin coach Rob Weil was selected Coach of the Year for all three organizations.

Denhart’s success this year was redemption after an elbow injury derailed much of last year’s season in which the Griffins fell in the Southern Section Division 1 semifinal.  She was one of 14 seniors and 21 players overall who will play four-year college softball bext season, but it will be hard to top their success from this season.


Author: LStrawther


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.