VOLLEYBALL: Griffins open season next week after strong showing at Hawaii pre-season tournament

Defending Div II Champs take sixth place at tough Ann Kang pre-season tourney

0
41
VOLLEYBALL: Griffins open season next week after strong showing at Hawaii pre-season tournament

The CIF Defending Division II Champion Los Alamitos Girls Volleyball team will officially open its 2019 season next week with a pair of home matches against strong South Bay teams.

The Griffins will host Palos Verdes on Tuesday, August 20 and Redondo Union on Thursday, August 22.  The Frosh-Soph will play at 3, JVs at 4:30 and Varsity at approximately 5:45.

The Griffins return a lot of talent from last year’s championship squad, led by senior outside hitter Abby Karich, the 2018 Division II Player of the Year Abby. Karich, who was also on the first team All-Orange County squad, has committed to play her college volleyball at Utah. Also returning are her all-CIF teammates, junior outside hitter Starr Williams and senior libero Jacinda Ramirez. Ramirez has committed to play at Loyola Marymount for 2020.

Next week’s games will be the official season starter, but the Griffins got some quality unofficial pre-season action last week when they finished in fifth place at the Ann Kang Tournament in Hawaii.

The Griffins downed Kahuku 2-0, Pearl City 2-1, but fell to Iolani 2-0 in Thursday action. On Friday they defated Escondido 2-0 and Hawaii Baptist, before falling to Redondo Union 2-0.  On Saturday they beat Granbury 2-0 but fell to Sunset League rival Huntington Beach 2-1.

 

 

Tue Aug 20
Palos Verdes
5:45 PM PDT
Thu Aug 22
Redondo Union
5:45 PM PDT
Tue Aug 27
Wilson
4:30 PM PDT
Thu Aug 29
Santa Margarita
Orange Lutheran
5:00 PM PDT
Fri Aug 30
Lakewood
3:00 PM PDT
Wed Sep 4
Cypress
5:30 PM PDT
Thu Sep 12
Marina
5:30 PM PDT
Tue Sep 17
Newport Harbor
5:30 PM PDT
Wed Sep 18
Corona Del Mar
5:45 PM PDT
Fri Sep 20
Durango Tourney
TBD
Sat Sep 21
Durango Tourney
TBD
Tue Sep 24
Huntington Beach
5:30 PM PDT
Thu Sep 26
Edison
5:30 PM PDT
Wed Oct 2
Fountain Valley
5:30 PM PDT
Fri Oct 4
Laguna Beach
5:45 PM PDT
Mon Oct 7
Corona Del Mar
5:30 PM PDT
Thu Oct 10
Huntington Beach
5:45 PM PDT
Fri Oct 11
Redondo Tourney
TBD
Sat Oct 12
Redondo Tourney
TBD
Tue Oct 15
Edison
5:45 PM PDT
Tue Oct 22
CIF Round 1
TBD

Author: losaltv

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.